National Research Foundation

Global Young Scientists Summit (GYSS), Singapore



International Summit

GLOBAL YOUNG SCIENTIST SUMMIT (GYSS), SINGAPORE

An International Meeting of Bright Young Researchers, Nobel Laureates & Eminent Scientific Leaders in Singapore



Positioning of GYSS

- An international gathering of top scientific minds in Singapore to discuss science & technology trends, future game changers and how research could address major global challenges
- Speakers are scientific leaders who are recipients of
 - Fields Medal
 - Millennium Technology Prize
 - Nobel Prize
 - Turing Award
- Participants are bright young scientists post-docs and PhD students from different parts of the world

Key Features of GYSS

Item	GYSS
Discipline	Multi-disciplinary (Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, Computer Science); focus is on use-inspired research to address major global challenges
Scope	Science & Technology R&D and Innovation
Audience	Mainly Post-docs and PhD students (35 years old and below) However, local undergrads with passion for research can be selected to attend
Composition	1/3 Singapore, 1/3 Asia-Pac, 1/3 Elsewhere
Enabler	Singapore Challenge - Prize given to the best scientific idea or innovative concept to solve a given challenge - Finalists pitch to a panel of international judges

Inaugural GYSS, Singapore

National Research Foundation

ADVANCING SCIENCE, CREATING TECHNOLOGIES FOR A BETTER WORLD 20-25 Jan 2013

- To excite and inspire bright young scientists to apply their minds to research that addresses serious global issues and the future needs of mankind
- To connect young researchers to like-minded peers and with eminent scientific leaders as well as to engage them through close & personal interaction sessions
- To enable the realization of innovative research ideas through awarding a prize for the best idea(s) submitted

Selection of GYSS Participants

National Research Foundation

Participant selection

- Participants to be selected by academic and research institutes with significant presence in Singapore and strong relationship with Singapore research entities
- Participants to take care of their passage to Singapore; NRF will cover the cost of the conference and local hospitality

Proposed Programme Outline

National Research Foundation

- Opening on Sunday Evening (20 Jan 2013)
- 5-day program (Mon Fri)
 - First 3 days -- Each day will have a different focus to address the theme of Advancing Science, Creating Technologies for a Better World
- Science & Research (Advancing Science)
- Technology Innovation & Society (Creating Technologies)
- Solutions to Global Challenges (Better World)
 - Last 1.5 days: site visits
- Closing session on Friday afternoon (25 Jan 2013)
 - Includes NRF Fellowship Award Ceremony and SG Challenge Award Ceremony

GYSS Speakers

National Research Foundation

- Speakers are eminent science and technology leaders who are prize winners of the following:
 - Fields Medal (Mathematics)
 - Millennium Technology Prize (Technology)
 - Nobel Prize (Physics, Chemistry, Medicine/Biology)
 - Turing Award (Computer Science)
- Plan is to have about 20 such scientists, with half being Nobel laureates
- NRF will first approach speakers who have good relationships with Singapore built up over the years

Proposed Masterclasses

```
National
Research
Foundation
```

- Speakers will be asked if they wish to conduct simple discussions, or hold masterclasses
- Speakers who want to teach a masterclass will suggest a topic which will be broadcasted to the participants
 - Participants will submit whitepapers on that paticular topic
 - Speaker will choose a participant's work to be discussed
 - Participant will prepare a presentation for the session, under advisement from the speaker
- Raises the level of participation and engagement between the speakers and the young scientists

Singapore Challenge

- Theme: Innovations for Future Cities
- Participants will be given an option to participate in the Singapore Challenge
 - Based on their current/past research
 - Submission of whitepaper during online registration
 - Selection of 10 finalists
 - Short presentation (5-10min) by finalists, to all participants, on last day
 - Judging panel will include speakers
- Winner(s) will receive a cash prize

International Advisory Committee

- Established an International Advisory Committee (IAC) to:
 - Provide advice on programme and speakers
 - Curate programme

Members

NameDesignationProf Sir Richard FriendSAB ChairmanProf Ulrich SuterCRP IEP ChairmanDr Curtis CarlsonFEP ChairmanProf Michael GraetzelFEP Member Millennium Technology Prize (2010)Prof Robert GrubbsSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005)Prof Hartmut MichelSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988)Prof Sir Anthony LeggettFEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003)Prof Aaron CiechanoverFEP Member	
Prof Ulrich SuterCRP IEP ChairmanDr Curtis CarlsonFEP ChairmanProf Michael GraetzelFEP Member Millennium Technology Prize (2010)Prof Robert GrubbsSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005)Prof Hartmut MichelSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988)Prof Sir Anthony LeggettFEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003)Prof Aaron CiechanoverFEP Member	
Dr Curtis CarlsonFEP ChairmanProf Michael GraetzelFEP Member Millennium Technology Prize (2010)Prof Robert GrubbsSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005)Prof Hartmut MichelSAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988)Prof Sir Anthony LeggettFEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003)Prof Aaron CiechanoverFEP Member	
Prof Michael Graetzel FEP Member Millennium Technology Prize (2010) Prof Robert Grubbs SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005) Prof Hartmut Michel SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Millennium Technology Prize (2010) Prof Robert Grubbs SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005) Prof Hartmut Michel SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Prof Robert Grubbs SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005) Prof Hartmut Michel SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005) Prof Hartmut Michel SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Prof Hartmut Michel SAB Member Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1988) Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Prof Sir Anthony Leggett FEP Member Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Nobel Prize in Physics (2003) Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Prof Aaron Ciechanover FEP Member	
Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2004)	
Prof Sir Richard Roberts CRP IEP Member	
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (199	3)
Prof Bertil Andersson NTU President	
Prof Tan Chorh Chuan NUS President	
Prof Amoud De Meyer SMU President	
Prof Tom Magnanti SUTD President	

President Tony Tan has agreed to be the GYSS patron

National Research Foundation